Birthdays – дни рождения

Posted on August 12, 2011

2


Monday was Aliona (my work partner)’s son’s 3rd birthday. She invited me to the party. I have now attended three Moldovan birthdays. This one still shocked me as the others did. The amount of work that goes into hosting a birthday party is crazy to me. Here, the Moldova birthday boy or girl hosts a massive feast for the friends and family–and I mean *hosts.* I watched my previous host mother prep for her birthday party for two days.

Each party I attended started between 5-7 PM and continued past 2 AM. Two of the birthday parties busted out karaoke machines, and each of them ended in the guests dancing to traditional music blaring outside. I am curious to see if people here still dance the hora indoors in the wintertime. Here’s a slightly embarrassing video clip of me attempting the hora with some other trainees and volunteers on the news. (Peace Corps Moldova held a 50th Anniversary celebration in the Central Park equivalent of Moldova’s capitol last month.)

The first picture below was taken with about half the food set on the table. The middle babushka in the last picture was quite a dear and tried to take me home with her so we could go to church in the morning. I knew I couldn’t spend the day at church, so she settled for this Sunday instead. Should be interesting.

Posted in: Uncategorized